Go Back   United Bimmer Community - BMW Forum > UnitedBimmer- Off Topic > United Off Topic  **FOR MEMBERS ONLY** > Geek Chat
FAQ Members List Calendar Advertise With Us Mark Forums Read

Geek Chat Ask computer questions or just engage in general geek talk on here

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2005, 10:25 PM   #1
Rooz

Name: Rooz
Title: Upgraded Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Rate My Car: 5 / 340
Your Ride: 2003 M5
Missing a Codec?

Ok, I have a bunch of MP3's I downloaded, but when I go to play them, it says "Failed to open file. Please check that it is a valid AVI or MPEG-4 file."

AM I missing a codec for it to work or something, by the way I use DivX

And I have a similar problem with some videos, they are saved as ".wmv" files but nothing will open them up...

Again, am I missing some codecs or what?
__________________



VIEW MOD LIST & PICS

I am worth $2,010,238 on HumanForSale.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg
Umnitza now provides a mechanic to install all parts ordered right in the box! It's their new "Total customer service program" that will eliminate all the haters and keep incompetents from breaking **** and blaming the vendor! When you are all set simply call INS and they will pick him up free of charge.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 11:56 PM   #2
DEATH2000
 
DEATH2000's Avatar

Name: DEATH2000
Title: Moderator
Status: Offline
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Rate My Car: 111 / 340
Your Ride: 1998 E36 328i sedan
most likley, i had a horrible problem with that on the skool comps we use. certain vids would play fine on my home comp then would give u the "fail to open file" thingy with the codec.
__________________


VIEW MY E36 BLOG HERE

New to United Bimmer? Check out our Introductions and Greetings Section and introduce yourself today!

E36 Bentley Manual PDF download avilable HERE
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 12:10 AM   #3
dinanM6
 
dinanM6's Avatar

Name: dinanM6
Title: Senior Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Calgary Alberta
User not setup in Rate My Car.
Click here to set it up.
ya it sounds like your best bet would be either to google codecs or check out divx's website and see if they have anything that will help I know there is something called the windows xp codec pack that you can get that is supposed to have every codec you will ever need in it or so Im told if I can ever find the link to it Ill post it
__________________


Member of the "I have no money" club
Founding Member of the "I need a job" club
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 10:16 AM   #4
komodo
 
komodo's Avatar

Name: komodo
Title: Administrator
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Athens, GA
Rate My Car: 68 / 340
Your Ride: 1995 M3
http://hellninjacommando.com/defilerpak/

That download will install 99% of the codecs you will need. I recommend it to anyone who mentions any codec problems.
__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 11:18 AM   #5
xsperf
 
xsperf's Avatar

Name: xsperf
Title: United Baller
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Syracuse, NY
Rate My Car: 185 / 340
Your Ride: 95 325is
ah, harry i use ACE Mega codec pack, again, never had to install another codec yet
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by c1apton
I keep forgetting that - I have a great memory but it doesn't last long

CRS disease = Can't Remeber Shit
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 10:31 PM   #6
Rooz

Name: Rooz
Title: Upgraded Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Rate My Car: 5 / 340
Your Ride: 2003 M5
ok, my cousin pointed me to CCCP (combined Community Codec Pack) that solved my audio issue, but I still can't view .wmv files (video).

Am giving harry's solutuion a try, I'll post feedback on it here
__________________



VIEW MOD LIST & PICS

I am worth $2,010,238 on HumanForSale.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg
Umnitza now provides a mechanic to install all parts ordered right in the box! It's their new "Total customer service program" that will eliminate all the haters and keep incompetents from breaking **** and blaming the vendor! When you are all set simply call INS and they will pick him up free of charge.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 10:32 PM   #7
Rooz

Name: Rooz
Title: Upgraded Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Rate My Car: 5 / 340
Your Ride: 2003 M5
OK, NVM Harry's solution, am guessing it requires Windows XP, am running Windows ME
__________________



VIEW MOD LIST & PICS

I am worth $2,010,238 on HumanForSale.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg
Umnitza now provides a mechanic to install all parts ordered right in the box! It's their new "Total customer service program" that will eliminate all the haters and keep incompetents from breaking **** and blaming the vendor! When you are all set simply call INS and they will pick him up free of charge.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 10:32 PM   #8
komodo
 
komodo's Avatar

Name: komodo
Title: Administrator
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Athens, GA
Rate My Car: 68 / 340
Your Ride: 1995 M3
^^ May the force be with you.
__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 10:42 PM   #9
Rooz

Name: Rooz
Title: Upgraded Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Rate My Car: 5 / 340
Your Ride: 2003 M5
I have some nice "vids" and I can't view them because of the freaking codec, this is sad......
__________________



VIEW MOD LIST & PICS

I am worth $2,010,238 on HumanForSale.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg
Umnitza now provides a mechanic to install all parts ordered right in the box! It's their new "Total customer service program" that will eliminate all the haters and keep incompetents from breaking **** and blaming the vendor! When you are all set simply call INS and they will pick him up free of charge.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 03:55 PM   #10
kestrel325is
 
kestrel325is's Avatar

Name: kestrel325is
Title: Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
User not setup in Rate My Car.
Click here to set it up.
Your Ride: 1995 325is 5-speed
I use the K-Lite codec pack. No need for anything else. It should work with ME, as well.

(btw- switch to XP Pro. ME=balls.)

K-Lite download
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 06:42 PM   #11
Rooz

Name: Rooz
Title: Upgraded Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Rate My Car: 5 / 340
Your Ride: 2003 M5
yeah, am actually switching comps within 2-4 weeks, lol

See...http://www.unitedbimmer.com/forums/thread4891-2.html
__________________



VIEW MOD LIST & PICS

I am worth $2,010,238 on HumanForSale.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg
Umnitza now provides a mechanic to install all parts ordered right in the box! It's their new "Total customer service program" that will eliminate all the haters and keep incompetents from breaking **** and blaming the vendor! When you are all set simply call INS and they will pick him up free of charge.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 08:00 PM   #12
bmwcrazy

Name: bmwcrazy
Title: Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Oct 2005
User not setup in Rate My Car.
Click here to set it up.
I use the Nimo codec pack. Never had a problem with it.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing a Screw....Engine.... Numark318i E21, E30 19 02-04-2006 02:50 PM
Missing Floor Heat 1995 318i singring E36 2 12-27-2005 04:56 AM
Still missing photos? Dudesky Site Feedback 7 11-06-2005 07:56 PM
am i missing something? craig Site Feedback 12 10-02-2005 11:51 PM
Are we missing something? xsperf Site Feedback 9 04-18-2005 07:39 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.

A vBSkinworks Design

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © 2005-2013 UnitedBimmer.com