Go Back   United Bimmer Community - BMW Forum > UnitedBimmer- Model Categories > 5-Series > E12, E28, E34, E39, E60
FAQ Members List Calendar Advertise With Us Mark Forums Read

E12, E28, E34, E39, E60 General discussion and technical help for all year 5 series cars.

Old 08-18-2010, 02:33 PM   #1
tm11nia

Name: tm11nia
Title: United Newb
User not setup in Rate My Car.
Click here to set it up.
Your Ride: e39 523i 1996
aux A/C fan problems

3 years ago when I bought my 523i '96 it had problems with A/C. In hot weather ~38 degree C if A/C turned on, the temp. gauge started indicating temps close to 120 degrees... there was no way to keep A/C on. In our own workshop (since I work as a auto parts salesman) they managed to get the auxiliary A/C fan to start, and even first and second stage running... Later I learned that in fact second and third stage were merged together electricaly... It worked that way for a couple of years untill the aux A/C fan motor died (three of the six magnets inside the motor got unglued and ended up grinding against the rotor, causing huge current consumption and eventualy blowing all the fuses that govern the three stages of the aux A/C fan). Having the motor replaced with a used one, together with the resistor assy, I observed that only (I guess) the second speed stage is active. The mannifestation of that fact is that the aux fan starts at about 94 degree engine core temp, runs for about 10-15 secs and shuts off for about 20-30 secs...
The normal way of operation would be that the first stage starts at 94, runs for all the A/C on period in silent manner, the second stage active at temps above 104 engine core degrees, and the third stage kicks in in extreme conditions such as very hot outside temp, towing or climbing very stiff roads...
Since the thermostat keeps the engine at 95 degrees, the first speed stage of the aux fan is supposed to run as long as the A/C is turned on...