Go Back   United Bimmer Community - BMW Forum > UnitedBimmer- Off Topic > United Off Topic  **FOR MEMBERS ONLY** > Geek Chat
FAQ Members List Calendar Advertise With Us Mark Forums Read

Geek Chat Ask computer questions or just engage in general geek talk on here

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-14-2005, 04:13 PM   #1
jrhaile

Name: jrhaile
Title: Upgraded Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Rate My Car: 114 / 340
Your Ride: 1991 Dinan Turbo, 95 M52 Turbo
Maybe Someone Will Know

Okay I've got a client that I'm trying to setup Veritas 10 on one of their 2003 Server machines. Here is the problem: Veritas uses My Network Places to select remote machines across the network to backup. There are several other servers including 2 Cad servers, one ISA 2004 server (which I'm not concerned about backing up), one production server, and one print server which I need to be able to backup from using Veritas. So only the DC is showing up and the BACKUP server which I'm working on in NEtwork Places. If I add IPX to the LAN connection, I get all of the other machines on the network, but not the servers. I can communicate just fine with the servers VIA unc or pinging. So I believe I got myself a master browser problem, but Im' not quite sure which steps to take to solve this...

basically the network goes like this: Internet > Cisco PIx > 2004 ISA Server > DC > Other machines...
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 04:38 PM   #2
RealBmw 02

Name: RealBmw 02
Title: GRIP > DRIFT
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: So Cali
Rate My Car: 76 / 340
you lost me at "okay"
__________________

1970 BMW 2002
Driven by skill, not money
"Real BMW's have round tail lights"
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 04:48 PM   #3
jrhaile

Name: jrhaile
Title: Upgraded Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Rate My Car: 114 / 340
Your Ride: 1991 Dinan Turbo, 95 M52 Turbo
yeah I figured as much haha...
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 04:50 PM   #4
komodo
 
komodo's Avatar

Name: komodo
Title: Administrator
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Athens, GA
Rate My Car: 68 / 340
Your Ride: 1995 M3
Sorry man, if it was unix or linux I'd be there. But windows I try to stay away from. I don't want to catch anything.

I have no clue, sorry.

Good luck though.
__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 04:57 PM   #5
jrhaile

Name: jrhaile
Title: Upgraded Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Rate My Car: 114 / 340
Your Ride: 1991 Dinan Turbo, 95 M52 Turbo
yeah well I found a workaround in Veritas but now I'm just curious as to what master browser issues I'm having on this network...
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 07:11 PM   #6
bmw4life

Name: bmw4life
Title: Addicted BMW Freak
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hickory, NC
Rate My Car: 112 / 340
Wish I could help but just lost me at Veritas.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.

A vBSkinworks Design

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © 2005-2013 UnitedBimmer.com