Go Back   United Bimmer Community - BMW Forum > UnitedBimmer- Model Categories > E21, E30
FAQ Members List Calendar Advertise With Us Mark Forums Read

E21, E30 General discussion and technical help for 1975-1991 3 series cars.

Old 02-14-2009, 02:14 PM   #1
mmihacsi

Name: mmihacsi
Title: United Newb
User not setup in Rate My Car.
Click here to set it up.
Your Ride: 1984 318i
Question E30 318i Will Not Start

Hello- I am a newbie to this Forum and appreciate any help as my rig is sitting in the driveway - dead!

so this is a familair theme to other members and after reading past posts their guidance feel short of advising me on my engines problem. Short of towing to the local BMW garage I would like to try it here:

1. 318i 1983 unmodified engine (stock)
2. Battery charged, spark plug wires have a heathy spark (so it cranks fine)
3. Gas flowing from gas filter hose in a good stream
4. Power (+12Vdc) from Fuel Pump Relay outputs while cranking
5. No gas in cylinders upon removing plugs

Background: Started car several days ago in the morning to warm it up. After about 5 minutes it died on its own and refuses to start sounding like its gas-starved but I suspect electrics since that is 80% of all car failurs in one form or another.

What next should I try/test?

Thanks in advance
Old 02-18-2009, 08:30 PM   #2
Big Evil

Name: Big Evil
Title: Moderator
Click here to set it up.
Your Ride: 1994 BMW 525i, 1987 325is, 1986 325