Go Back   United Bimmer Community - BMW Forum > UnitedBimmer- Off Topic > United Off Topic  **FOR MEMBERS ONLY** > Geek Chat
FAQ Members List Calendar Advertise With Us Mark Forums Read

Geek Chat Ask computer questions or just engage in general geek talk on here

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2006, 02:26 PM   #1
Addicted?

Name: Addicted?
Title: 350z
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bellingham, WA
User not setup in Rate My Car.
Click here to set it up.
Your Ride: 2003 350z Track Edition
Long distance routers?

first how do you spell rouder? haha anyways at my parents house they have an apartment thing above our shop and want to be able to get a good signal of internet up there for my brother to play halo on (with a wireless setup on the xbox) anyways the rouder we have now down at the house that our computer is plugged into gets a signal up to the shop (nearly 300 feet or so..) (but cuts out and isnt enough to run a wireless setup for halo (atleast it doesnt seem like it would be) anyone know a rouder that can get 300+ feet with a strong signal through one house and then through a nother to a wireless thing for an xbox! and where to get it. price etc etc

taht would be great!

David
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 02:28 PM   #2
01Mike330i
 
01Mike330i's Avatar

Name: 01Mike330i
Title: Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Rate My Car: 231 / 340
Your Ride: 2001 330i
*Router

You might have to go with a wireless bridge to reach 300+ feet in the house depending on walls, etc. so there might be some cables that have to be run.
__________________
Proud member of the Roundel Avatar Club!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 03:26 PM   #3
Addicted?

Name: Addicted?
Title: 350z
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bellingham, WA
User not setup in Rate My Car.
Click here to set it up.
Your Ride: 2003 350z Track Edition
where would i have to run the wires too?

David
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 03:37 PM   #4
01Mike330i
 
01Mike330i's Avatar

Name: 01Mike330i
Title: Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Rate My Car: 231 / 340
Your Ride: 2001 330i
Away from the router and toward the area that the wireless system will be set up.

Another option would be point to point wireless...but it'd be cost prohibitive just for gaming purposes.
__________________
Proud member of the Roundel Avatar Club!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 03:50 PM   #5
Addicted?

Name: Addicted?
Title: 350z
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bellingham, WA
User not setup in Rate My Car.
Click here to set it up.
Your Ride: 2003 350z Track Edition
^^how much are we talking?

David
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 03:54 PM   #6
01Mike330i
 
01Mike330i's Avatar

Name: 01Mike330i
Title: Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Rate My Car: 231 / 340
Your Ride: 2001 330i
For a bridge, probably sub $200.

Here's another option (as long as you're running 802.11g) I just came across, it's a wireless access point that's weather-proof, so you could mount it on the outside of the shop.

http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...VisitorWrapper

Cost in my system is @ $430.

And here's the bridge:

http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...VisitorWrapper

You'd have to call Linksys though to find out if it would work without being set up with a PC straight to the game console.
__________________
Proud member of the Roundel Avatar Club!!

Last edited by 01Mike330i; 03-14-2006 at 03:59 PM..
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 04:15 PM   #7
Addicted?

Name: Addicted?
Title: 350z
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bellingham, WA
User not setup in Rate My Car.
Click here to set it up.
Your Ride: 2003 350z Track Edition
well do you think if i am able to get a signal upstairs with my current router to a wireless lap top it will be enoughto run a wireless setup on an xbox to play halo?> or no?

David
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 04:19 PM   #8
01Mike330i
 
01Mike330i's Avatar

Name: 01Mike330i
Title: Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Rate My Car: 231 / 340
Your Ride: 2001 330i
Not if you're currently experiencing interruptions in the connection. The notebook will just receive the signal, it won't boost it.

Linksys also has some routers with a signal booster...but I don't know if it'd provide 100% up-time without interruptions.
__________________
Proud member of the Roundel Avatar Club!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 07:38 AM   #9
jms
 
jms's Avatar

Name: jms
Title: ______
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Rate My Car: 105 / 340
Your Ride: 99 328I Convertible
there's also powerline, which would give you an ethernet connection remotely, you can also use a linksys router as a bridge, it does work and is usually cheaper than their bridge(? still haven't figured that one out)

This may be an option
http://store.yahoo.com/justdeals/xe102usr.html
and this
http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?inv...102NAR&cat=NET

you would need both units.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 10:17 AM   #10
brien4787

Name: brien4787
Title: DelTaco
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: California, OC!!!!!!! Posts: 4,212,021
User not setup in Rate My Car.
Click here to set it up.
Your Ride: e36
you can get a wireless router and hack the firmware so it produces a signal that will reach that... one thing though... if you do that... there is a chance of knocking out other peoples signal (other networks)... and it might give you cancer... im guessing though... could be safe.. haha
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 11:33 AM   #11
defkon99
 
defkon99's Avatar

Name: defkon99
Title: Upgraded Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San An, TX
Rate My Car: 50 / 340
Your Ride: 1993 E36
Thumbs up

humn but wireless for gaming ,, , not very reliable to get the best out of the the conection id say just hard wire that SOB! you wont have to worry about any lag from the wireless signal which can fluctuate.

as for the Distance issue cat 5 can run 100 meters (330ft) anything after that will need a hub, switch, or repeater to boost the signal back up.

But here is a good find for Wireless. suposse to be really good.

http://games.dlink.com/products/?pid=370
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 02:27 PM   #12
jms
 
jms's Avatar

Name: jms
Title: ______
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Rate My Car: 105 / 340
Your Ride: 99 328I Convertible
I also prefer wired to wireless connections but wiring isn't always practical. If you have the option wire it up. It is worth the extra work.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E30'ers how long have you had yours? what mods so far? guywithblack88e30 E21, E30 44 10-19-2011 04:35 PM
Men have had enough, sorry for long list i didnt make it up xsperf Comedy Collection
6 09-26-2005 04:34 AM
One Drunken Night (Long but good) jrhaile United Off Topic  **FOR MEMBERS ONLY** 10 09-21-2005 04:01 AM
Long haul time... german speed demon United Off Topic  **FOR MEMBERS ONLY** 14 08-30-2005 11:36 PM
How long? zeaq328i E36 4 04-24-2005 03:19 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.

A vBSkinworks Design

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © 2005-2013 UnitedBimmer.com