Go Back   United Bimmer Community - BMW Forum > UnitedBimmer- Off Topic > United Off Topic  **FOR MEMBERS ONLY** > Geek Chat
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Advertise With Us Mark Forums Read

Geek Chat Ask computer questions or just engage in general geek talk on here

View Poll Results: Do you use a UPS? Power surge strip?
Yes, UPS + shut down software 4 36.36%
UPS, no shut down 2 18.18%
Power strip surge suppression only 4 36.36%
Nadda! 1 9.09%
Voters: 11. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2005, 12:45 AM   #1
witeshark
 
witeshark's Avatar

Name: witeshark
Title: Suspended License
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Miami FL
Rate My Car: 84 / 340
Your Ride: 89 325i 5 speed
Uninterruptible power supply?

Do you use one? Power strip only? Shut down software? Wanna share experience and make recommendations?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 01:27 AM   #2
cainchapman
 
cainchapman's Avatar

Name: cainchapman
Title: Senior Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Rate My Car: 127 / 340
Your Ride: 1995 540LE
If you value your work, you should use a UPS. I don't as I have a laptop and a loss of power is not significant.

It really depends on what you want to do. But I would recommend Powerware UPS and their software. The easy way to describe the protection levels was 3,5,9. In essense there are 9 different types of power quality problems. A 3 series will protect you from 3 of them, the 5 will protect you from 5 and the 9 series will do the lot. In more technical terms, a 3 is an "off-line UPS", a 5 is a "line-interactive UPS" and a 9 is a "dual-online UPS". The first 2 are little better than an extension cord with a battery back-up. If you live near an industrial area or have poor power quality in your area. Spend the mony and get the Online UPS.

NOTE: they are not lightning protectors!! A significant inductive event in your vicinity (within 10 power poles) may blow up your Online UPS. But it will protect your electronics from this event. An off-line or line-interactive will not even notice the spike passing through as the rise times are too quick and will fry your electronics.

I hope that helps.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 01:30 AM   #3
komodo
 
komodo's Avatar

Name: komodo
Title: Administrator
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Athens, GA
Rate My Car: 68 / 340
Your Ride: 1995 M3
I have an APC UPS with software.
__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 05:14 AM   #4
Dudesky

Name: Dudesky
Title: Run Far
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Rate My Car: 106 / 340
Your Ride: E39 530iA
I have a line conditioner on my A/V equipment, and my video projector has a UPS, so the lamp doesn't shut down abruptly. I care more about them than my computers, which only have cheaper UPS's.

If you're looking for recommendations, we use APC at work. Tiger Direct and Global Computer usually have specials on them quite often.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 09:26 AM   #5
LandoAWD
 
LandoAWD's Avatar

Name: LandoAWD
Title: Senior Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
User not setup in Rate My Car.
Click here to set it up.
APC user with Powerchute. Generic but effective.
__________________

"Like short sleeves, I bear arms"
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 12:11 PM   #6
witeshark
 
witeshark's Avatar

Name: witeshark
Title: Suspended License
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Miami FL
Rate My Car: 84 / 340
Your Ride: 89 325i 5 speed
Quote:
Originally Posted by LandoAWD
APC user with Powerchute. Generic but effective.
My choice as well
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 09:57 PM   #7
xsperf
 
xsperf's Avatar

Name: xsperf
Title: United Baller
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Syracuse, NY
Rate My Car: 185 / 340
Your Ride: 95 325is
all i know is that where my brother works, they have computers with a hard drives that are i think 3 terabytes, and they are running unix, so everytime there is a power outage, and they didnt shut it down properly(halt) and if their UPS fail, it takes about two weeks to start back up
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by c1apton
I keep forgetting that - I have a great memory but it doesn't last long

CRS disease = Can't Remeber Shit
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2005, 11:44 AM   #8
jms
 
jms's Avatar

Name: jms
Title: ______
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Rate My Car: 105 / 340
Your Ride: 99 328I Convertible
I have an apc 2200 and it's only powering 1 pc at the moment. So if the power isn't back on for a few hours I might be in trouble. and at work we put in a generator so the ups only needs to last a few seconds and then they are on generator power. We went natural gas so we don't even have to fill the generator.

Although the natural gas generators don't have as clean a power signiture as diesel so you do have to turn the ups sensitivity down a notch but well worth it.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power steering leak witeshark E21, E30 15 03-10-2006 12:46 AM
Power Steering failure... Longhairedhippy E46 20 11-16-2005 10:30 PM
WTF! Didn't British E36s have power windows? (pics) delmarco E36 6 09-19-2005 12:56 AM
Power steering. catalyst E36 4 07-26-2005 01:04 AM
Microsoft Power Supply komodo Comedy Collection
1 07-13-2005 07:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.

A vBSkinworks Design

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © 2005-2013 UnitedBimmer.com