Go Back   United Bimmer Community - BMW Forum > UnitedBimmer- Off Topic > United Off Topic  **FOR MEMBERS ONLY** > Geek Chat
FAQ Members List Calendar Advertise With Us Mark Forums Read

Geek Chat Ask computer questions or just engage in general geek talk on here

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2005, 09:21 PM   #1
B3M2W5i
 
B3M2W5i's Avatar

Name: B3M2W5i
Title: Senior Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Daly City, CA
User not setup in Rate My Car.
Click here to set it up.
fixing up an old vaio

i have an old vaio which has like 4 gigs of memory and i was wondering what i can do to it to speed it up i'd like to know what parts i can get or what parts i should replace to bring it up to our standards.. i want to use wireless broadband internet with it and go online download music and photoshop without lag.. i got it for free btw it was my gf's old comp and i was thinking this desktop may be a little more useful than my old compaq laptop.. ill try to find the model online and maybe you could tell which is worth fixing up the laptop, desktop, or both..
__________________
Cashmere Beige Metallic
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 09:25 PM   #2
B3M2W5i
 
B3M2W5i's Avatar

Name: B3M2W5i
Title: Senior Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Daly City, CA
User not setup in Rate My Car.
Click here to set it up.
ok i have a compaq armada m700 and the sony vaio is purple and outdated
__________________
Cashmere Beige Metallic
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 09:32 PM   #3
witeshark
 
witeshark's Avatar

Name: witeshark
Title: Suspended License
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Miami FL
Rate My Car: 84 / 340
Your Ride: 89 325i 5 speed
An old Vaio with 4G memory? You mean hard drive, right? Making that up to today's in Windows would mean mucho hardware upgrades. But late versions of Linux will run on it very well
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2005, 09:49 AM   #4
B3M2W5i
 
B3M2W5i's Avatar

Name: B3M2W5i
Title: Senior Member
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Daly City, CA
User not setup in Rate My Car.
Click here to set it up.
yeah hard drive.. whats linux?
__________________
Cashmere Beige Metallic
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2005, 09:56 AM   #5
Dudesky

Name: Dudesky
Title: Run Far
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Rate My Car: 106 / 340
Your Ride: E39 530iA
Quote:
Originally Posted by witeshark
Making that up to today's in Windows would mean mucho hardware upgrades.
Yea, and the cost of upgrading the hardware wouldn't be worth it. For the same amount or a bit more, you can get something new with faster bus speeds.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
China Fixing Signs We've All Laughed Over komodo United Off Topic  **FOR MEMBERS ONLY** 4 11-14-2005 07:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.

A vBSkinworks Design

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © 2005-2013 UnitedBimmer.com